Tranferring at Düsseldorf Airport

Flight transfers at Düsseldorf Airport are simple and straightforward. After arriving in Düsseldorf there are monitors in the terminal from which you can obtain information about the departure gate number of your connecting flight (e.g. B56, A21). You then follow the signs to the appropriate gate (e.g. ‘Transfer B’ or ‘Departure B’). In this way you always remain in the same building and normally have only a short distance to walk.

Security Check


Due to legal regulations, you will have to pass through several security checks whilst going through the transfer process. Please be prepared for this and pay attention to the regulations regarding taking liquids with you: max. 100 ml containers in a re-sealable see-through bag with no more than 1,000 ml in total.
Please be aware that liquids bought from duty free shops at airports outside the EU may not be carried in your hand luggage when flying from an EU airport. This also applies to duty free items you’ve bought on board a non-European airline.

Border and passport control

The decisive factor is whether the airport you flew from and your destination are both within or outside the Schengen Area.

If both your departure airport and travel destination are inside the Schengen area, generally no passport control is required. The same is true for a trip from a non-Schengen country to another non-Schengen country. 

Several countries have transit visa requirements. Citizens of Afghanistan, Ethiopia, Bangladesh, Eritrea, Ghana, India, Iraq, Iran, Jordan, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lebanon, Mali, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, and Turkey might need a transit visa. Please find out the details before you start your journey. 

Find more information, visit the Website of the Federal Foreign Office:


Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland